top of page
Writer's pictureJean Peruda

Miss Universe candidate came out as 'bi'

Miss Universe Philippines (MUP) 2020 Cavite representative, Kimberly "Billie" Hakenson, has come out as bisexual during the closed door interview of the beauty pageant.


In a short video clip uploaded last Monday, October 19, 2020, Billie revealed that she identify herself as "bisexual".


"I'm Billie Hakenson, representing Cavite and I'm a bisexual and I'm proud to be here." she said.

In an instagram post, Billie posted a photo of herself in a black cocktail dress with the caption: "I know who I am, I know what I can do. I will tell my story as truly as I can, and I will enjoy every bit of this journey as I build myself."

The confession of Hakenson has since became a talk on social media garnering different impressions from the netizens.

Although many criticized her coming out, there were some especially the members of the LGBTQ+ community who celebrated her openness to the public.

Words by Jean Claire Peruda

Photo from Kimberly Hakenson's Instagram

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page