top of page
Writer's pictureBryan Fernandez II

CRIES-MAS

Trees with balls hanging plus a golden star on top.

Yet I'm here staring at the ceiling waiting when the fireworks will stop.


While everyone's busy cooking and figuring out what to wear.

I'm here laying in my cold bed not in the mood for the celebration, I swear.


Houses are covered with lanterns and kaleidoscopic lights.

I long for the exchange of cards cause what's left of me is a quiet and lonely night.


I couldn't agree more when you said I'm just mistaken and overthinking.

Look me now, spending the season of joy staring, drinking wine and crying.


"Merry Christmas to me and to me only," I said to myself while I'm on my knee.

My hand's craving to hold another but realtime sadness is only one hugging me.


Last Christmas was indelible knowing that when I gave you my heart, you gave yours in return.

We took hundreds of photos but those are now all worthy to burn.


My heart's like the wrappers for gifts given and received It was once furnished but it's now torn cause I only thought of love when you decided to leave.

Photo by Dannalie Degamo

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page